They Should Come With Instruction Manuals

I have been doing this Mom gig thing for 12.5 years now. You would think I would have a pretty good handle on it by now. For the most part I tend to think that I do.  Or I did. Until my baby started growing up right before my very eyes.  Like overnight.

Speaking of eyes, Noodle is now an official contact wearing member of society. Although that is going to come to a crashing hault if her mother (you know the one who thought she had her shit together)  can’t figure out how to fill her prescription. Yes, I suppose I can wander back into the doctor’s office and ask for them. Although when we were there he may have let it slip that they charge twice as much a wee bit more there than you can order them at other places.  I, being a 20/20 vision person (don’t be jealous, I had braces for 9 years to make up for it) had NO idea that each eye would be different which means we need a different box of contacts for each eye. Then how many boxes does one order? It seems the more you do order, the cheaper they get. I have no idea how long “they are good for” and would assume a years worth would be the most we would order as her eyes still seem to change at each check-up.

And can I tell you how different she looks without her glasses on? I can’t describe it really. Maybe it is because I am so used to seeing her in her glasses. The other day on the way to school I kept looking at her. Finally she asked me why I was staring at her. I told her I didn’t know. I just can’t get over it. She is just so incredibily breathtaking.  The splash of the freckles across the bridge of her nose, and the way you can see her eyes sparkle and jump when she laughs now. It makes my heart leap every time I look at her. I just hope she is not having the same effect on the boys.

I am still worthy of kisses (in front of her friends no less) when I drop her off at school in the mornings so I guess I still have that to hang onto.  We will see how long that lasts. *Sigh*.

One comment on “They Should Come With Instruction Manuals

  1. vixensden says:

    Hopefully you have bred the kissing thing into her and it will be acceptable for all time. Somehow, I managed to do that with all three of mine. I think it may have been just a matter of habit and they didn’t realize they were doing it, but I take what I can get.

Leave a comment