Then Again, It Was Worth Every Penny

 Last Tuesday night was the 8th grade dinner at school. I knew there would be awards and a slide show. I knew there would be tears. I figured they would mostly be mine.  I was wrong. So very wrong.

Towards the end of the evening the principal handed out “alumni cards”.  She called each student up one by one, gave them their card and a hug. When she had 5 cards left in her hand she said I have kept these cards until the end for a reason, and then called the last 5 up all at the same time. The 5 were Noodle and the other 4 who came over from the old school last year. That is when I started welling up.  She went on to say we have tried to skate around ( as in treat these kids like they have been here all along) this issue all year but now something needed to be said. This is when I started the ugly cry. She said “By no fault of theirs, these kids will be getting a diploma with our schools name on it rather than the one they called home for so many years”.  That is when SHE started the ugly cry.  There was more, but that said it better than I could have imagined.

Most of the people at our table were other parents of the “5”. There wasn’t a dry eye at our table. It was the final confirmation that we all made the right decision. 

I went up to the principal before we left to thank her. She said “We are just as happy to have found you as you were to have found us”. I lost it all over again. As hard as I tried I just couldn’t make any words come out.

When Noodle started school it was the destination we looked forward to.

Today it is the journey that we look back upon and are so very thankful for.

One comment on “Then Again, It Was Worth Every Penny

  1. vixensden says:

    I am so glad you found them and they were blessed to have Noodle. All that agonizing for you, poor thing, but you ‘done good’

Leave a Reply

