Wash, Rinse, Repeat.

I have been whining at the Hubs for a few weeks now that I wanted to take our comforter to the laundry mat and wash it.  I am not cool enough to have one of those fancy front loader washers so the laundry mat it is.

I should be embarassed to tell you how long it has been since it has been washed, but with the story I am about to tell whats 2 years between friends?

I had never been to this particular laundry mat before so I called a friend who told me where it was once before just to make sure I knew where I was going.  She explained which shopping center it was in and that it was all the way at the end of the row.

I pull into said shopping center and follow it all the way to the end just like she told me. I looked in the window of the end store and there was a row of about 10 washing machines. 

I grabbed my laundry basket with my comforter in it and the container of soap I brought (I brought enough for one load so I wouldn’t have to carry the big ass bottle with me, smart thinking hu? Just wait!) and into the store I went.

I was surprised it was rather empty but thought Wow lucky me! I set down my basket and opened a washer. That is when I looked around a little closer.

I was not in a laundry mat. I was in a mom and pop appliance store!  I grabbed my stuff as fast as I could and ran across the parking to my truck.

I am sure whoever was in the store got a great laugh at my expense.

Once I found the laundry mat,  (All the way at the end of the center and around the corner at the OTHER end of the strip mall) and was a normal flesh tone color again I was ready to try again.

I found the great big front loaders, which there were 2.  Looked to see how much they were and lugged my crap back up to the front of the store with me to get change from the machine. Lug my crap back to the machines. One was being used so I used  the other. I shoved the comforter into the machine, dumped in my laundry soap (remember I only brought just enough) in the machine and tried to add my quarters. It would not take them no matter how hard I tried to shove them in.

Out came the comforter, back to the front of the store to buy more quarters so I could buy more laundry soap. 

Back to the back of the store to wait for the lady using the other big ass front loader to be done.

As I was sitting waiting someone came up to use the other one and I told them “I think it is broken”. So then they had to use 2 small machines just down the way.

Once the lady using the other machine was done, I finally got my comforter going. Turns out the other machine worked just fine, it was operator error.

All today did was confirm that the $20.00 a week I pay Noodle to do laundry? Worth every damn penny and then some.

Leave a Reply

