Always On My Mind

fr erv 012

 

One year ago today  you left us.

On Eagles Wings  makes me think of you and bawl like a baby.

You are missed. So, so missed.

I take out your Holy Card often and try to remember you are where you belong.

 

fam

c. 1940.  My grandpa (back row 3rd from left) with his siblings and parents. Fr. E  is the little guy in the middle. 5 years later he went to the Seminary. They would never all be together again, until one year ago today.

 

 

John 14:1-7.

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God  trust also in me. My Father’s house has plenty of room; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you?  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.  You know the way to the place where I am going.”

Thomas said to him, “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.  If you really know me, you will know  my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

 

fr erv 013

2 comments on “Always On My Mind

  1. Susan says:

    I have a piece of your family hanging in my house. When I look at it, it reminds me of exactly what “leaping before you look” can sometimes bring you. Friends who are a “brother of another mother”, if you will.

    I remember following you on FB as you made the trek to your grandma’s house and sending well-wishes and prayers for you and your family. I gave them freely and sincerely before I got to “know” you. Today, a year later, knowing you, I wish for comfort for all of you, again freely and sincerely. However, now when I look at the owl that hangs in my kitchen, I am reminded of how things change over the years and what family means to us. Including extended family – I’m referring to our friends; the family we get to choose.

    For what it’s worth, I assure you no one else would love the owl like I do and fo sho no one covets, err, loves the fish and if anyone gets in the way of my getting them at some future date, I’m strapping them to the bumper. Just saying…

    xoxo

  2. Vixen says:

    I am so, so, so sorry for being so late to read this. Argh.

    But you know how I feel, right? I hope? And you know all the perfect things I was going to say, right?

Leave a Reply

