Not Quite A Rocket Scientist If You Ask Me (And Apparently You Should)

We live in a somewhat, for lack of a better word, rural area.  To the south of us are huge horse properties that for the most part sit on several acres.  My best guess is that this year was the first year in a very long time that the kids from that neighborhood had the opportunity to Trick or Treat in somewhat of a consolidated area (unless their parents took them someplace else).

My neighbor and I were sitting on her driveway handing out candy when a huge front loader / back hoe tractor came rolling down the street. It was pulling a flat bed trailer that was set up to be like a hay ride. The trailer had about 20 drunk adults sitting on it.  They were having a great time. While the idiots adults rode on the back the kids rode in the FRONT LOADER.

As an Iowa farm girl – This just screams  “Accident Waiting To Happen” to me.  We were taught from the time we were knee high to a grass hopper that farm equipment is dangerous. 4 of my grandpa’s 7 brothers were missing at least some amount of a finger on at least one hand. A distant cousin was killed when he was 12 by a tractor in a fluke accident. I hate to say it, but it is a hazard of their occupations. They know they have to be cautious. I can guarantee you with almost 100% certainty that not one of us would have EVER been allowed near the front (you just can’t see well enough when you are driving the tractor) let alone been allowed to climb on it.   ESPECIALLY WHILE IT WAS RUNNING!

Not only was it DARK outside, they were drinking! Now, I can not say if the driver was or not but it sure seemed all his other passengers were so you know parental supervision was not at its finest.

I sat there will my mouth hanging open in disbelief.  I wanted to say something but I just couldn’t find the words.

It was one of those things where I just could not believe my eyes. But had I not been drinking myself so dumbfounded I would have realized we both had our cameras on our laps the entire time and I could have taken pictures to show y’all how they Trick or Treat Way Out West.

2 comments on “Not Quite A Rocket Scientist If You Ask Me (And Apparently You Should)

  1. Sarah says:

    Oregon farm girls were ENCOURAGED to ride on the tractors … I know how to DRIVE the tractors. LOL You should see some of Gramps’ machinery that I played on/under/inside of when I was a small child. Iowa-girls are sheltered. 😉

    BTW – love your crossed out lines.

  2. vixensden says:

    No pictures??? Damn, I was going to trade you a picture of my disco dress for that. Too bad for you though.

Leave a Reply

