Bueller? Bueller? Anyone? Bueller?

As I mentioned the other day it was cold and rainy here last weekend. Being the stellar mother that I am I still allowed my child to swim not once, not twice, but three times in said weather. Did I make her get out of the pool when she was sitting on the steps with her teeth chattering together and her lips were turning blue?  I sure did, about 20 minutes later when I was ready to go in and hang out with my friends.  I am going to get a big head if I don’t stop talking about what great parenting skills I have.

I mention all of these faults  wonderful things about myself to let you know that I am 100% at fault for the following…. (Her getting sick that is, not for coming up with the idea to give herself a fever)

My poor sweet Noodle started complaining Monday night that she had sore throat. Tuesday morning she woke up and wasn’t really herself but still wanted to go to school. I dropped her off and she ran off to join her friends and seemed fine. About lunch time I sent a text message to her afternoon teacher and asked her to let me know how Noodle was when she got to her class.  About 30 minutes later I got a text from the teacher and she said Noodle was going downhill fast and needed to go home.  I told her I was on my way.  When I got to school I told the secretary (a friend) I was there to get Noodle and she would be going home for the day. 

NOW! This is where I have actually excelled at the parenting gig – Noodle has only missed 3 days of school since Kindergarten (when she was actually sick) and I have never taken her out early, nor has she ever been tardy! School is numero uno in my book and this mama doesn’t mess around when it comes to education.

So friend says to me “The book is behind you”. I had no idea what she was talking about.  Yeah, that would be the book to sign your child out of school when you take them home early. Oops. My bad. So friend called Noodle out of class and I was signing her out when she came into the office. Poor baby was dragging her poor little self like someone who had wondered the dessert for hours with no water. I asked her why she didn’t go to the nurse earlier if she felt so bad. She said she did but  M1 and P were with her and they also “didn’t feel good”, and nurse sent them back to class after taking their temperatures.  Some times it pays to be friends with your kids teachers now doesn’t it?

Anyway, I had to take her to Gma’s house because I had a meeting after work and didn’t have time to go home and get back in time.  Hubs left work as soon as he was able and picked her up and took her home.

On my way home after the meeting I called Mama B and she told me the following story…

M1 and Noodle were in the bathroom and Noodle kept telling M1 she didn’t feel good and wanted to go home.  M1 washed her hands and said something to Noodle about how hot her hands got under the hand dryer. All of a sudden a light bulb came on for one of them (no one has admitted it was their idea yet) and it was decided between the two rocket scientist that they are, if Noodle put her face under the dryer it would make her hot and give her a fever and then she could go home. 

Yes, when she told me I laughed my ass off. I had a hard time keeping a straight face when I asked Noodle about it this morning.  She told me “Mom, I  felt so bad and just wanted to go home”. 

I know she did indeed feel like crap on a cracker because after I dropped her off at Gma’s I called when I got back to work less than 20 minutes later and Noodle was already sleeping on the couch.

My poor girl.

She did make an amazing recovery and is back at school today with just a bit of a runny nose.

I do have to give it to her on this one, I am not sure Ferris could have come up with something like this.

 

3 comments on “Bueller? Bueller? Anyone? Bueller?

  1. vixensden says:

    Heating her face with the dryer? It sounds so brilliant! And yet, apparently it didn’t work.

    I am thinking you should hope she is not this tricky about things in the years to come…

  2. ProjectMommy says:

    Hahaha! You’re child is a genius. I wish I would have thought of that when I was in school. Mostly the one I used most was a can of cream of mushroom in the toilet. “Mom, I threw up! I don’t feel good, I can’t go to school!” When she checked the toilet, she’d see that I threw up. “Okay, you can stay home today.”
    Oh shit! My mom reads your blog. I think I just blew my cover. Damn.

  3. vixensden says:

    Shannymar, you are so grounded.

Leave a Reply

