Routine

There was all together way to much screaming, yelling and crying going on at our house in the mornings. 5 minutes makes all the difference in the world as to when we leave the house. If we leave at 7:00 we are at school right at 7:30. If we leave at 7:05 or later, we are running across the parking lot at 7:49 hoping to beat the bell at 7:50. So, to make sure we leave on time I freak out and do the aforementioned screaming, yelling and crying. It just wasn’t a good way for any of us to start the day.  I thought and thought trying to figure out how to make things better. I am 1000% a creature of habit though and any change doesn’t set well with me.  With Hubs getting a new job (Oh! By the way, Hubs got a new job, which really throws that creature of habit stuff into full force,  I’ll tell y’all about it soon),  he goes in and tells Noodle to get up in the morning on his way out the door, which isn’t much help.

I decided to see if there was something I could do to try to make a difference. I have started taking a shower at night, which cuts about an hour off of my time getting ready (by the time I shower, dry my hair and fight with the straightener), and getting up about 15 mins earlier. Not only am I creature of habit I love my sleep more than just about anything else in the world.  I also have started making Noodle’s lunch the night before which only saves about 5 mins but with the other changes I have an extra hour and 20 mins. I can’t tell you how much this cuts down on the stress for all of us. Not only are we ready WAY before we have to be this morning I had time to do a load of laundry AND empty the dishwasher. It has also greatly improved the car ride as we are not pissed off at each other and I love to talk to my girl and sing along to the radio with her.

Believe you me, it has been hard for me to drag myself up the stairs and take a shower at night. Once I plop down on the couch that is  exactly where I want to stay until its time for bed.  I hope that this really does help things. Its not just for me, its for Noodle and she seems to be noticing.

We will see how the rest of the week plays out. Tomorrow I have to be all the way on the OTHER side of town at 8:00 which means I will have to leave the house literally before the sun comes up. I am dropping Noodle off at 6:15 to catch a ride with the neighbor and then I will be on my way. But its hump day so we are half way through the week. And come Friday?? We are off to a much anticipated trip to the beach with no water.

This entry was posted in Noodle.

3 comments on “Routine

  1. ProjectMommy says:

    Awesome! I love glamis. We used to go. Sad, back when we acutally owned bikes an hadn’t pawned them all for money! Last time we were there was probably in 2000, although it doesn’t feel like it was that long ago. My parents and I spent the day trying to pull an ambulance out of the sand that had gotten stuck trying to save someone.

  2. Audrey says:

    OMG! That looks like sooooo much fun!

    (BTW, I’m just like you when it comes to getting up in the morning. In fact, I just got my hair permed so that I don’t have to get up an extra 15 minutes early to just do my hair.)

  3. vixensden says:

    Well, you creatively changed your schedule without upsetting your need to not change things, so you are one smart cookie. As Nannygoat mentioned, we used to hang out there alot. I wish I had the gas to just drive out there and tell you to your face how much your support, kind words and hugs help me and keep me going…Its only a 3-4 hour drive….ah but heck, I gotta work on moving. One of these times though, I promise.

Leave a Reply

