A Family Tradition Of Sorts

Today would have been my grandpa’s birthday. No one enjoyed a birthday more than him. It wasn’t because it was your special day. It was because there was cake. I can not tell you how many times my grandma would bake a birthday cake for someone and a piece would be missing before the birthday kid even saw it.  I don’t think it was really a cake at grandma’s house if it was all there. I think we all (I have 35 first cousins! Hey we are Catholic and from the Midwest, its how it is) have at least one picture holding a cake that isn’t quite all there.

Tonight when I got home I baked a cake in his honor. After I took it out of the oven I ran Noodle over to a friends house, when I got back there was a piece missing. (Before I frosted it). I know it was Hubs, and I made to eat but I sure couldn’t help but think of Grandpa and laugh.

Happy Birthday Vinnie S.

I hope you got cake today. Lots and lots of cake.

This entry was posted in Family.

One comment on “A Family Tradition Of Sorts

  1. malinthemiddle says:

    That is a sweet memory (no pun intended.) I bet the fact that you are thinking of your grandpa on his birthday is as sweet to him as delicious cake, (and you know that the cake must be awesome in Heaven!) He sounds like he was my kind of guy!

Leave a Reply

