Forever Is A Long Time When You Are 16

Imagine my surprise when I went to check the PO box and found a Christmas card and letter from my best friend from high school. I haven’t heard from her in almost 3 years. I try to send her mom and dad an email about once a month just to check in. (Her dad says I am the best one of his kids as I call to check in and never ask for money!). Her mom keeps me filled in on all L’s going ons.

I have tried to keep in touch but after awhile you get tired of being the only one who makes the effort and you give up. 

Now I don’t know what to do. If I thought there was a chance that she would follow through and keep up communication on her end I would be all over it, but from past experience with her, I don’t see it happening. I hate to get my hopes up only to have them thrown by the wayside yet again. On the other hand I wonder what if she is serious (she had to make the effort to get our address from her mom as she had the PO address and there wasn’t a nice yellow forward sticker from the post office on the envelope) this time and if I don’t respond and then its MY fault that we don’t talk anymore.

We were inseparable back in the day, although it was very much like mixing fire and gasoline when the two of us put our heads together.  I am sure our parents never knew if the next time they saw us if we would be in the convent or on the nightly news.  There was a time, that I would have laid my life on the line for her. Now I can’t even decide if I want to send her an email.

This entry was posted in Friends.

One comment on “Forever Is A Long Time When You Are 16

  1. vixensden says:

    Well you not really out anything if you just send a short note to acknowledge receipt of the card, right? Then if she responds you can re-think things then. I think (I know I only know you online, but still) you are not the kind of person who could ignore a card anyway….so don’t put your heart on the line yet, just say hey thanks for the card, nice to hear from you. That gently and kindly lobs the ball back in her court and gets you off the hook.

Leave a Reply

