No Vacancy

Yesterday when we were out at the house we were talking to one of the sales associates and looking at the big board that shows all the lots and if they are available, sold or specs. I noticed that one of houses on one side of us was a “spec” again instead of a sold unit. I instantly felt bad for these people who we had never even met, that as it turns out could not sell the house they are in now and had to back out of the new one.

Todd, the sales associate, then said “Here is your chance to pick your neighbors. Tell your friends about it, see if any of them want to move”. 

I personally would not WANT to pick my neighbors. Sure I don’t want an axe murderer or something like that but I would rather just roll the dice and take who we get rather than have friends move in next store.

I love my friends, but that’s just it, I love them and want to keep it that way. You have to have some space sometimes. If  I don’t care for the people who move in or they don’t care for me, that is fine, then all you have to do is say hello and wave occasionally. But if it is a friend and you have a meeting of the minds or a falling out you are stuck with those people and I think it would make for a very awkward situation.

What would you do? Would you want to pick and choose or get what you get?

4 comments on “No Vacancy

  1. Michelle says:

    I think I’d adopt your philosophy, especially since I don’t know anyone I’d actually WANT to live next door to me. We have cordial relationships with our neighbors on either side, and that is just fine.

  2. shannymar says:

    I am with you on that one, sometimes you want time to yourself and a friend may not understand that. You want to be able to go visit your friends when you want to hang out, not be forced into it constantly. That way you won’t feel guilty when you and your family are having a barbeque and hanging out and they are peaking over the fence wondering why you didn’t invite them.

    Oh and p.s. Tag you are it!

  3. vixensden says:

    Yea, I would rather take my chances with neighbors of fate. Too much pressure to have your friends next door all the time. Who knows what they could find out. A girl’s gotta have some secrets!

  4. Audrey says:

    Tough call.

    I will tell you, one reason we picked the apratment we did, was bc Sir Computer Extraordinaire’s friends (bf, gf situation) are literally across the driveway. The only time we ever see them is if one of them needs something….”Hey can I get a ride to work?”…(seriously, I hate getting that call at 7 in the morning). Would I pick this place again? I dunno, maybe. After all it is in a good location for us. (Wouldn’t want to live there permantly though.)

    However, in an ideal situation, I would LOVE to have a REAL firend across the way. Someone to talk with, help plant flowers, share recipes, go running together, you know girl stuff…Sometimes, a girl’s gotta get away from her husband. 🙂

Leave a Reply

