Not So Pearly Whites

I am going to the dentist tomorrow. I am going to try to be a big girl about it. I hate going to the dentist. I blame it on a bad experience when I was going through braces. Then about 5 or 6 years ago I knew I needed to go again and asked everyone I knew what dentist they went to and tried to find a new one. The one I ended up going to had me in tears almost before he had me laid back in the chair.

 (The genetic gods were not good to my mouth (although I am the only grandchild out of 30 with 20/20 vision, I would much rather of worn glasses and had good teeth though), added to my mad attempt* to roller skate up marble steps right when my permanent teeth were coming in has done a number for me).

I never went back to that dentist. Then about 2 years ago, 2 days after I had hernia surgery I cracked a tooth and ended up needing a crown. While he was in there doing that he decided my wisdom teeth needed to come out. Like I said that was almost 2 years ago and well I haven’t been back again. I do really like this dentist (we went to the same orthodontist growing up, which is cool but its really weird to me to have someone my age being my doctor or dentist etc. ). About 3 weeks ago my cell phone rang and it was the hygienist wanting to know if I was ever coming back. I moaned and groaned about it and told her to give me an appointment. She told me she had one that day. I declined and told her I needed a few days to work up to coming in. 

Last night I was eating popcorn and I am hoping and praying that is what it is lost a filling. I guess its a good thing that I have an appointment already set up for tomorrow. ( I did call and told them that is what I think it is so they could block out a little more time for me so hopefully they can fix it tomorrow because who knows when I will be brave enough to go back again). If you never hear from me again you will know the dentist was the death of me.

*When I was 6 I tried to roller skate up a flight of marble steps my mom was standing at the top of. She kept telling me to stop and I kept going. When I got to the top she reached her hand out to help me, I let go of the railing to grab for her my feet went out from under me and down I went. Lots of blood and stitches later they realized I did severe damage to the roots of several permanent teeth that we just in or just coming in, if I didn’t knock them out. It was way not pretty then, and I still have teeth issues today because of my dare devil attempts.

This entry was posted in Mar.

4 comments on “Not So Pearly Whites

  1. Mallory says:

    I hope you get some good laughing gas out of it. Just close your eyes and go to your “happy place” and breathe deeply. (Or wait, maybe that was the advice for losing your virginity?! I always get mixed up.) At least you will get a dazzling smile out of it. 🙂

    I just shot Pepsi out of my nose reading that! At least it made me stop thinking about my tooth hurting!

  2. vixensden says:

    I am not fond of the dentist either. On a similar note, when I was 7 or 8 I was rollerskating AND pushing my little brother on a skateboard (??) and I face planted and chipped my front tooth. 28 years later (ok, maybe its 38 years who is counting?) I still lose the “fix” every couple of years and have to live with half a tooth for a while.

  3. Jeff Keith says:

    UGH!! I would rather do about anything besides go to the dentist. Who would say “Hey I wanna stick my entire hand in someones mouth and cause massive pain for a living”? Dentists need a psychlogical help IMO!

  4. Michelle says:

    I HATE THE DENTIST. I haven’t been since we moved to a new city, and my husband is so on my case about it all the time. I’m afraid, okay? AFRAID. Let me know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

